October 2022 Texas School Law Section

July 2022 Minutes

Meeting Minutes

School Law Section Retreat
State Bar of Texas
Annual Business Meeting

JW Marriott – San Antonio, Texas

July 23, 2022 – 9:30 a.m.

The meeting was called to order at 9:30 a.m.

Section Chair Chris Gilbert gave the Chair’s Report: 

Through the School Law 101 initiative, Section members are doing outreach at law schools to educate law students on options for careers in school law.

Chair Chris Gilbert announced future Retreat dates and locations: the 2023 Retreat will be July 20-23, 2023 at the Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center in Grapevine, Texas; the 2024 Retreat will be July 18-20, 2024 at the Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center in Grapevine, Texas. 

Treasurer Cory Rush gave the Section Treasurer’s Report, including the  2021 projected and actual budget.  The projected fund balance for 2022 is $79,602.30.

Chair Chris Gilbert reviewed 2022-2023 Officer and Director nominations for the Section: 


Chair:              Andrea Gulley (Walsh Gallegos Treviño Kyle & Robinson)

Chair-Elect:     Giana Ortiz (The Ortiz Law Firm)

Vice-Chair:      Cory Rush (Karczewski|Bradshaw|Spalding)

Treasurer:       Leslie Story (TASB)

Past Chair:       Chris Gilbert (Thompson & Horton)


3rd year:         Leticia McGowan (Richardson ISD)

                        Brandon Brim (Brim, Robinett & Brim)

2nd year:         Cory Hartsfield (Cory Hartsfield, PC)

                        Christie Hobbs (Northwest ISD)

1st year:          Tiger Hanner (Tiger Hanner Law Firm)

                        Amanda Bigbee (Keller ISD)

Upon motion and second, the slate was approved; the Chair and Immediate Past Chair automatically advanced to Office per Section bylaws.

Chair Chris Gilbert announced the 2022 Kelly Frels Lifetime Achievement Award recipients: Daniel Ortiz (The Ortiz Law Firm) and Tom Myers (Brackett & Ellis, P.C.).

Incoming Chair Andrea Slater Gulley announced the 2023 Retreat Planners: Paige Williams (TCTA) and Ronn Garcia (Underwood Law Firm).

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:00 a.m.

Texas School Law Section

More from
The Section

February 17, 2018 Texas School Law Section
July 17, 2018 Texas School Law Section
February 17, 2019 Texas School Law Section