July 2018 Minutes

Meeting Minutes

School Law Section Retreat
State Bar of Texas Business Meeting
July 28, 2018 Minutes

The meeting was called to order at 10:15 a.m. by Chair Julie Leahy (TCTA), as her last official act as Chair.

The Chair took a point of personal privilege with a recognition in memoriam of Joe Tanguma. Jim Byrom spoke on his behalf and Julie called for a moment of silence.

The business meeting began with a Treasurer’s report given by Mari McGowan (Abernathy, Roeder, Boyd & Hullett, P.C.). She reported Current Total Assets of $114,860.38; Liabilities of $13,567.76; and a Fund Balance of $101,292.62. She recommended an increase in school law section dues from $25 to $30, a membership drive to get membership to 790 (currently 720), and a reduction in donation amounts to $1,000 (higher amounts would require membership approval). This would result in a total of $2,385.00. David Thompson made a motion and Neal Adams seconded. The motion carried with no one opposed.

The Chair then thanked the Section Officers and Executive Committee for their work on this year’s Retreat. Tom Meyers then gave a report on the golf tournament and indicated there were 16 golfers this year and awards were given to the 1st and 2nd place teams, as well as 2 special awards for “Closest to Pin” and “Longest Drive”.

Next the Chair said she was “stepping off into the sunset” after finishing her term, and proposed next year’s Section Officers as follows: Chair-Mark Tilley (TASB), Chair-Elect Marney Collins Sims (Cy-Fair ISD), Vice Chair Mari McGowan (Abernathy, Roeder, Boyd & Hullett, P.C.) and Treasurer Chris Gilbert (Thompson & Horton). Tom Myers made a motion and Tiger Hanner seconded. The motion carried with no one opposed.

The Chair then presented the recommendation of the Nominating Committee for the next Executive Board for 3-year terms as follows: for third year of 3-year term, Norma Cantu (Brim, Robinett, Cantu & Brim) and Kelli Karczewski (Karczewski, Bradshaw, Spalding, Nichols, Lamp, Langolois); for second year of 3-year term, Andrea Slater Gulley (Amarillo ISD) and Giana Ortiz (The Ortiz Law Firm); for first year of 3-year term, Jamie Turner (Walsh, Gallegos, Trevino, Russo & Kyle) and Paige Williams (TCTA). In addition there were two 1-year term appointments, Cory Rush (Karczewski, Bradshaw, Spalding, Nichols, Lamp, Langolois) and Leslie Story (TASB). Also Meredith Walker (Walsh, Gallegos, Trevino, Russo & Kyle) was proposed for newsletter editor. David Thompson made a motion and Karla Schultz seconded. The motion carried with no one opposed.

Next Mark Tilley thanked Julie Leahy for her work as Chair, and presented her a plaque.

The Kelly Frels Lifetime Achievement award was presented next and the recipient was David Thompson. Neal Adams and Philip Fraissinet spoke on his behalf.

Mark Tilley, newly elected Chair, presented future Retreat dates for the next 2 years at Hyatt Lost Pines in Bastrop, TX. The dates are July 18-21 in 2019, and July 16-19 in 2020.

The meeting ended at 10:57 a.m.

Texas School Law Section

More from
The Section

February 17, 2018 Texas School Law Section
July 17, 2018 Texas School Law Section
February 17, 2019 Texas School Law Section