July 2019 Minutes

Meeting Minutes

School Law Section Retreat
State Bar of Texas
Business Meeting

The meeting was called to order at 9:45 a.m. by Chair Mark Tilley (TASB) and the business meeting began with a Treasurer’s report given by Chris Gilbert (Thompson & Horton).  He reported for the 2018-2019 budget year: Total Revenue of $62,245; Total Expenses of $54,177.85; and a Fund Balance of $111,148.82, which was an increase over last year’s balance of $101,292.62.

The Chair then moved to recognitions, and thanked the outgoing Directors, Kelli Karczweski (Karczewski, Bradshaw, Spalding, Nichols, Lamp, Langolois) and Norman Cantu (Brim, Robinett, Cantu & Brim), who completed their three-year terms on the Section’s Board of Directors.  Outgoing Director’s plaques were presented to the outgoing directors and accepted on their behalves by Mark Robinett for Norman Cantu and Cory Rush for Kelli Karczweski.  A special thank you and recognition was given to Cory Rush (Karczewski, Bradshaw, Spalding, Nichols, Lamp, Langolois) and Leslie Story (TASB) who completed their one-year appointments on the Board of Directors and were responsible for planning and organizing this year’s Retreat.  Cory and Leslie were presented with a special gift from the Officers in appreciation for their hard work.  Mark Tilley also thanked Evan Janc who organized the golf tournament at the Retreat on behalf of Vice Chair, Mari McGowan, whose office is responsible for organizing the golf tournament at the Retreat.  Mark Tilley announced the winning team, and the winners of the “Closest to Pin” and “Longest Drive” contests.  

Next the Chair introduced the nominations, elections and appointments for 2019-2020.  The Chair explained that by the Section Bylaws, the Nominating Committee (which is the Chair and Chair-Elect) makes and reports the nominations for Chair Elect, Vice Chair and Treasurer and Directors for confirmation by the Section.  The proposed Officers and Directors were:  Chair- Marney Collins Sims (Cypress-Fairbanks ISD) by ascension and nominations for Chair-Elect Mari McGowan (Abernathy, Roeder, Boyd & Hullett, P.C.), Vice Chair Chris Gilbert (Thompson & Horton) and Treasurer Andrea Slater Gulley (Walsh, Gallegos, Trevino, Russo & Kyle).  Following the announcement of the officer nominations, Mark Tilley stated that with his progression to Immediate Past Chair, he wanted to acknowledge the outgoing Immediate Past Chair, Julie Leahy (TCTA) and thank her for her leadership to him and to the Section.

The Chair next announced the Director nominations: Amanda Moore (TCTA) and Leslie Story (TASB) for three-year term Directors.  Due to a vacancy in the returning Directors, Cory Rush was nominated to move directly to the two-year term Director along with Paige Williams (TCTA).  Jamie Turner (Walsh, Gallegos, Trevino, Russo & Kyle) was also nominated to move to a third year of a three-year term to fill a vacancy along with Giana Ortiz (The Ortiz Law Firm).  Meredith Walker (Walsh, Gallegos, Trevino, Russo & Kyle) was proposed for the second year of the two-year term as newsletter editor. The Chair then asked if there were any additional nominations from the floor; hearing none, the Chair called for a vote.  Kelly Frels made a motion and Ellen Spalding seconded.  The motion carried unanimously.

Next Marney Collins Sims thanked Mark Tilley for his work as Chair, and presented him with the Outgoing Chair plaque.  Mark Tilley took a point of personal privilege and thanked his prior employers and mentors, and especially thanked Joy Baskin and TASB for their support during his time as Chair.

Marney Collins Sims presented the incoming Chair’s appointments for the one-year term on the Board of Directors, who will assist the Chair in planning the Retreat for 2020.  The appointments were: Leticia McGowan (Dallas ISD) and Brandon Brim (Brim, Robinett, Cantu & Brim).  The incoming Chair also discussed other business, which included the appointment of the Immediate Past Chair to study the Section’s Bylaws and make recommendations to the Officers and Board of Directors regarding changes needed to the bylaws to conform current practices, including revision of the bylaw section regarding the newsletter.  The future Retreat date for 2020, which will again be at Hyatt Lost Pines in Bastrop on July 16-19, was announced and the floor was opened to the Section for any other business.  Jay Brim requested that the Officers study ways to spend the Section’s fund balance in order to reduce, and consider charitable donations such as the donation made by the Section after Hurricane Harvey.   

The meeting was adjourned at 10:05 a.m.

Texas School Law Section

More from
The Section

February 17, 2018 Texas School Law Section
July 17, 2018 Texas School Law Section
February 17, 2019 Texas School Law Section